These 27 ministers are facing a vote of no confidence


John Steenhuisen announced his intention to table a motion of no confidence against all South African Ministers during the State of the Nation Address (SONA) debate in February – six weeks later the day has come and President Cyril Ramaphosa’s cabinet is on the chopping block.

LIVE updates: All you need to know about the Cabinet no-confidence vote


In his SONA debate speech on 14 February, the Democratic Alliance (DA) leader claimed it was clear Ramaphosa does not trust his “bloated” cabinet and accused the president of putting the interests of the African National Congress (ANC) above those of the public.

In the speech, nine cabinet ministers, including Bheki Cele, Gweded Mantashe, Patricia De Lille and others, were named and shamed because Steenhuisen felt they should no longer have jobs.

In the build-up to the motion of no confidence, the more well-known members of “Ramaphosa’s poverty cabinet” – as the DA refers to them – were roasted by the industrious press office of the opposition party. The DA’s shadow ministers wrote articles that presented five reasons why the people who occupy their position in the ANC “must go.”

Steenhuisen and company will also picket outside the gates of Parliament on Wednesday morning, 30 March ahead of the vote – there’s even a petition for the public to sign.

“It is time for South Africans to make their voices heard loud and clear: We will no longer tolerate incompetence and the looting of the State. These good-for-nothing Cabinet Ministers must go!” said the party in a statement on Wednesday.

Ministry Minister
Agriculture, Land Reform and Rural Development Ms Angela Thokozile Didiza
Basic Education Mrs Matsie Angelina Motshekga
Communications and Digital Technologies Ms Khumbudzo Ntshavheni
Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs Dr Nkosazana Clarice Dlamini-Zuma
Defence Ms Thandi Ruth Modise
Employment and Labour Mr Thembelani Waltermade Thulas Nxesi
Forestry, Fisheries and Environment Ms Barbara Dallas Creecy
Finance Mr Enoch Godongwana
Health Dr Mathume Joseph Phaahla
Higher Education, Science and Innovation Dr Bonginkosi Emmanuel Nzimande
Home Affairs Dr Pakishe Aaron Motsoaledi
Human Settlements Ms Mmamoloko Kubayi
International Relations and Cooperation Dr Grace Naledi Mandisa Pandor
Justice and Correctional Services Mr Ronald Ozzy Lamola
Mineral Resources and Energy Mr Samson Gwede Mantashe
Police Mr Bhekokwakhe Hamilton Cele
Presidency Mr Mondli Gungubele
Presidency for Women, Youth and Persons with Disabilities Ms Maite Emily Nkoana-Mashabane
Public Enterprises Mr Pravin Jamnadas Gordhan
Public Service and Administration Ms Ayanda Dlodlo
Public Works and Infrastructure Ms Patricia De Lille
Small Business Development Ms Stella Ndabeni-Abrahams
Social Development Ms Lindiwe Daphne Zulu
port, Arts and Culture Mr Emmanuel Nkosinathi Mthethwa
Tourism Ms Lindiwe Sisulu
Trade, Industry and Competition Mr Ebrahim Patel
Transport Mr Fikile April Mbalula
Water and Sanitation Mr Senzo Mchunu


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here